Monday, March 16, 2009


If there is one thing that I truly appreciate about the ongoing judicial reform program being implemented by the Philippine Supreme Court, it is none other than the continuous effort of the Court and its subordinate agency, the Philippine Judicial Academy (Philja), to improve, expand and strengthen the Court-Annexed Mediation System and the pilot-stage Judicial Dispute Resolution (JDR) System.

As far as I am concerned, the mediators are the silent new heroes of the Philippine justice system, humble and quiet in the solitude of their small mediation rooms but industriously working out fair and just solutions to painful and bloody human problems that have shifted their battle arenas to the courts.

Below is a news item from the Supreme Court stating that it had accredited 93 mediators last month. Thus:

To achieve zero-backlog in court dockets nationwide, the Supreme Court, upon the recommendation of the Philippine Judicial Academy (PhilJA), recently approved the accreditation of two mediators from Iligan City for the period of November 2, 2008 to November 1, 2010; three mediators from Camarines Sur for the period of June 1, 2008 to May 30, 2010, and 24 mediators from Baguio City, Benguet for the period of January 11, 2009 to January 10, 2011.

The Court likewise approved the re-accreditation of 64 mediators for the cities of San Fernando in La Union, Metro Manila, Cebu, Davao, Cagayan de Oro in Misamis Oriental, and Ormoc City in Leyte for the for the period of November 2, 2008 to November 9, 2010.

The 93 accredited and re-accredited mediators underwent a series of screenings and interviews conducted by PhilJA. They also underwent Basic Mediation Training for four days and an intensive Internship Program for one month prior to accreditation.
Accredited Mediators

Iligan City and Lanao del Norte Judge Gerardo D. Paguio (ret.), Atty. Demosthenes R. Plando, Camarines Sur Judge Corazon A. Tordillas (ret.), Atty. Amelina Bernadette Corazon P. Crescini, Mary Jane A. Abelinde , Baguio City, Benguet Jacinto S. Baonsan, Ruth B. Bawayan, Bernard D. Briones, Angeline May T. Cabrera, Hannah B. Caliton, Mia Joy O. Cawed, Jose P. Cawiding, Reynaldo D.V. Cordoviz, Marissa Dacayanan, Editha R. Datuin, Martin B. Domingo, Joyce P. Dulnuan, George Dumawing, Jr., Jeannie B. Escolano, Anthony A. Faguingas, Antonio L. Ferrer, Valentin C. Garin, Ramon P. Magallanes, Ignacio C. Pangket, Sharon Rose P. Tenafrancia-Carolino, Vanessa M. Roncal, Juliet Sapling-Imperial, Juan B. Valdez.
Re-Accredited Mediators

San Fernando, La Union Mena I. Albeza, Elizabeth P. Acabado, Maribel B. Aduan, Constancia M. Agoot, Jobert A. Ancheta, Eddy A. Almodovar, Atty. Diana Lynn M. Arellano, Emma Beth F. Balagot, Atty. Ronella M. Balbin Concepcion, Corazon R. Cabanban, Elenita E. Chan, Atty. Ferdinand E. Concubierta, Atty. Andre H. Dacanay, Atty. Abraham F. Datlag, Liza V. De Vera, Esther D. Diaz, Aileen C. Estavillo, Atty. Febeline R. Estepa, Georgina F. Estapa Flores, Antero C. Guillermo, Jr., Roweli B. Guillermo, Atty. Marilyn E. Hidalgo, Grace M. Lacebal, Eduardo L. La Madrid, Atty. Rodel T. Lopico, Milagros O. Magumcia, Felicisima C. Mon, Susan A. Munzing, Franco G. Jubilo, Benevicta O. Orate, Constante P. Ordoño, Ma. Athena L. Pimentel, Atty. Myra Diwata A. Rivera Caroy, Atty. Aurora P. Sanglay, Elizabeth F. Sera, Nestor L. Suguitan, Olivia A. Sy, Joel M. Tadina Metro Manila Norberto A. Alensuela, Roy Camacho, Arsenia E. Dalisay, Godofredo C. Eslepa, Jr., Manny V. Gragasin, Jonathan A. Lardino, Ricardo Z. Rubico, Annina D. San Gil, Vilmi S. Quipit • Cebu Ma. Socorro S. Montuerto Davao Rosanna L. Buala, Roberto Q. Cañete Cagayan De Oro Franklin B. Gallego, Donnahville A. Abellanosa-Galarrita • Ormoc City Marichu Vi Alvero, Amado V. Barbusa, Dr. Teogenes V. Caing, Armando N. Fulache, Atty. Gloriosa C. Guinocor, Ronilo D. Juanir, Atty. Ari G. Larrazabal, Sarah Juliana M. Mate-Lopez, Atty. Fermin A. Nepomuceno, Atty. Filelina S. Oliver, Luisa Penserga, Dean Gil Marvel P. Tabucanon (AM No. 09-1-6-SC-PhilJA, Re: Accreditation of Sixty-Four (64) Mediators from San Fernando, La Union, Metro Manila, Cebu, Davao, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis, Oriental and Ormoc, Leyte ; AM No. 09-1-5-SC-PhilJA, Re: Accreditation of Two (2) Mediators from Iligan City and Lanao Del Norte; AM No. 09-1-4-SC-PHILJA, Re: Accreditation of Three (3) Mediators from Camarines, Sur, January 13, 2009; AM No. 09-1-17-SC-PHILJA, Re: Accreditation of 24 Mediators from Baguio City, Benguet effective January 11, 2009 until January 10, 2011, February 3, 2009)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.