Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Retiring justices; Duterte to appoint 10 new justices by 2019

"x x x.

BAGUIO CITY—The judicial reform advocate group, Hustisya Natin, has urged public vigilance for the new justices of the Supreme Court who will be appointed by President Duterte to replace 10 retiring justices in the next three years.

Lawyer Marlon Manuel, chair of the project steering committee of Hustisya Natin, on Friday called on citizens to take part in the Judicial Appointments Watch (JAW) as the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) served notice for public panel interviews with candidates filling a post to be left by Justice Jose Perez. Perez is retiring on Dec. 14.

Also retiring between 2017 and 2019 are Justices Arturo Brion, Jose Mendoza, Presbitero Velasco Jr., Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Mariano del Castillo, Lucas Bersamin, Antonio Carpio, Bienvenido Reyes and Francis Jardeleza.

Except for Reyes and Jardeleza, these justices were appointed by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Justices Diosdado Peralta and Estela Perlas-Bernabe are due to retire in 2022.

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Justices Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa and Mario Victor “Marvic” Leonen are serving terms beyond 2022. These three justices are appointees of former President Benigno Aquino III.

x x x."

Read more: http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/843590/public-vigilance-urged-in-appointment-of-10-new-sc-justices#ixzz4QiLOETCH 

Follow us: @inquirerdotnet on Twitter | inquirerdotnet on Facebook