Wednesday, December 2, 2015

4 new CA justices named - The Standard

See - 4 new CA justices named - The Standard

"x x x.
Malacañang has appointed four new associate justices of the Court of Appeals.

In separate transmittal letters sent to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Aranal-Sereno, Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. informed her that President Benigno Aquino has appointed four new CA magistrates, namely: Marikina Regional Trial Court Judge Geraldine Fiel-Macaraig, Makati City RTC Judge Perpetua Atal-Pano, Manila City RTC Judge Ruben Reynaldo Roxas and lawyer Gabriel Robeniol.

The new magistrates will be assigned in the CA Mindanao, particularly in Cagayan de Oro where the appellate court is located.

Macaraig was a Judicial Excellence Awardee during her stint at the Regional Trial Court, Branch 192, Marikina City wherein she received the Chief Justice Jose Abad Santos Award in 2012.

In 2001, Fiel-Macaraig was appointed to the Judiciary as Presiding Judge of the Branch 192 of the Marikina Regional Trial Court. From 2005-2007, she served as Vice Executive Judge of the station and was eventually chosen as Executive Judge for two terms, from 2007-2011.

Atal-Pano started her career in the Supreme Court as attorney before entering the judgeship at the Makati Metropolitan Trial Court, while Robeniol is currently a law professor of the University of Santo Tomas College of Law and a law practitioner.

The Judicial and Bar Council shortlisted 14 names for the four vacant positions in the CA out of 52 applicants.

The seven-member council, which is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the President for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman, is headed by Chief Justice Sereno, with ex-officio members, namely Senator Aquilino Pimentel III and Iloilo Rep. Niel Tupas and Justice Secretary Benjamin Caguioa.

Retired SC Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez is the head of the Executive Committee and represents the Retired SC Justice Sector.

Lawyer Jose Mejia representing the academe, retired Court of Appeals Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman representing the private sector, lawyer Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines are the other regular members of the JBC.
x x x."