Sunday, January 22, 2017

Duterte appoints 11 new judges - The Manila Times Online

"x x x.

The latest appointments of 11 Regional Trial Court (RTC) judges for Region 4 or Southern Tagalog and Region 5 or Bicol were relayed in a transmittal letter of Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno on January 17, 2017.

The appointees were Mary Jane Valeza-Maranan for Lemery, Batangas, and Niven Canlapan for Carmona, Cavite.

For Laguna, Tomas Ken Romaquin was appointed for Binan, Mary Jean Cajandab-Pamittan for Santa Cruz, Rosauro Angelito David for Santa Rosa and Gil Jude Santa Maria, also for Santa Rosa.

For Puerto Princesa, Palawan, appointed were Arnel Cezar for Branch 163, Anna Leah Tiongson-Mendoza for Branch 164 and Ramon Chito Mendoza for Branch 165.

Alma Balilla Operio was appointed for Labo, Camarines Norte, and Erwin Dimayacyac for Oriental Mindoro.

Upon Duterte’s assumption as President last year, he appointed only two RTC judges who were later assigned in Pangasinan.

The Judicial and Bar Council, which shortlisted the latest appointees, is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the President for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Office of the Ombudsman and the Office of the Deputy Ombudsman.

x x x."