Wednesday, August 16, 2017

SC reorganizes divisions after 2 justices’ retirement | Inquirer News

"x x x.

Associate Justice Bienvenido Reyes reached the mandatory retirement age of 70 last July while Associate Justice Jose Catral Mendoza retired at age 70 on Aug. 13.

Because of their retirement, the composition of the three divisions will be the following:

First Division: Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno (chairperson), Associate Justices Teresita Leonardo De Castro, Mariano Del Castillo, Francis Jardeleza and Noel Tijam.

Second Division: Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio (chairperson), Associate Justices Diosdado Peralta, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa and Andres Reyes Jr.

Third Division: Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco (chairperson), Associate Justices Lucas Bersamin, Marvic Leonen, Samuel Martirez with Andres Reyes Jr. as temporary member.

According to the Internal Rules of the Supreme Court, the appointment of a new member of the Court “shall necessitate the reorganization of Divisions at the call of the Chief Justice.”

President Rodrigo Duterte had appointed Martirez, Tijam and Reyes Jr. JE

x x x."